In January 2023, NPP Krško in Slovenia obtained final approval of its environmental permit for lifetime extension from 40 to 60 years. This approval was the last step in almost a decade-long process. NPP lifetime extension is an important tool for safe, reliable, low-carbon electricity production in Slovenia and Europe. With reliable lifetime extensions, nuclear power continues to be a secure path to a clean, bright energy future.

To capture the most important lessons learned and to disseminate this knowledge to the international community, we will have NPP operation issues and lifetime extension topics as focal points of this year’s NENE2023 conference.


Monday 11.9. Tuesday 12.9.     Wednesday 13.9.   Thursday 14.9.    
Morning Session Key Themes
(Oral & Poster)
Key Themes
(Oral & Poster)
Key Themes
(Oral & Poster)
Afternoon Session Conference Opening  Key Themes
(Oral & Poster)
Key Themes
(Oral & Poster)
Conference Trip
Evening Welcome Reception Conference Dinner

Key themes:

  • NPP life-time extensions and long-term operation
  • NPP updates and modernization
  • NPP operation, innovations, and O&M cost reductions
  • NPP long term reliability, operation, support, and supply chain issues
  • NPP workforce planning, recruiting, education, training, leadership, and talent development
  • Reactor physics & Research reactors
  • Thermal hydraulics & CFD
  • Materials in nuclear technology
  • Severe accidents & PSA
  • Fuel cycle back-end, radioactive waste and environment
  • Nuclear energy, energy policy and decarbonization of society
  • Nuclear education, training and leadership
  • Future of Nuclear Fission Technology 
  • Nuclear fusion & Plasma technology
  • Nuclear regulation, law and society

Key Dates

May 15, 2023
Abstract submittal
June 30, 2023
Acceptance of abstracts
August 31, 2023
Full length papers
September 11-14, 2023
September 30, 2023
Results of peer review
November 15, 2023
Camera ready papers