_Piran, Photo Bojan Zefran

The conference "Nuclear Energy for New Europe" is an important annual meeting point for professionals from nuclear research and educational institutions, nuclear utilities and regulatory bodies from Europe and abroad. The 2010 conference’s theme followed the general trend of nuclear revival, with wide-ranging look at the current developments in different fields related to nuclear research, industry, education, regulation and public acceptance. The opportunities and challenges for the new build of nuclear power generation were enlightened. 159 participants from 22 countries and the IAEA attended the conference. The technical part of the program was complemented by an afternoon trip to the UNESCO heritage Škocjan Caves and the Socerb castle. This and other social activities stimulated the friendly and productive atmosphere at the conference.

The editorial activities of these Proceedings started early in 2010 with the Call for papers and 118 abstracts were submitted by May. A Program Committee meeting was held in June in Ljubljana, where the program of the conference was outlined. Invited lecturers covered a wide range of topics from present nuclear data issues to NPP new build and future fusion power plants. Around one third of the contributions were presented orally and others as posters. All papers published in these Proceedings were presented at the conference, reviewed and recommended for publication by two referees.

A special section was devoted to the memory of the late prof. Matjaž Ravnik in which his colleagues focused on his work and TRIGA research reactor operation.


Following the tradition of previous meetings, an award was given for the best paper prepared by a first author aged no more than 32 years. This year the award was presented to Laure Lizon-A-Lugrin. Additionally two best poster awards were presented to Emilie Beuzet and Tea Toplišek.

We take this opportunity to express our gratitude to our sponsors who contributed to the success of the meeting. Special thanks go to the members of the award committees, who thoroughly read the »young author's« papers and examined the posters. We would like to thank also the Program committee members for their excellent work during the selection and classification of papers.

Andrej Trkov

Igor Lengar
Chairman of the Program Committee

Chairman of the Organizing Committee
Andrej Trkov
Igor Lengar